Council Members

Mayor (Vacant)
Elected March 2021
Term expires March 2024

Former Mayor Robert Hagerty resigned effective October 10, 2022, leaving a vacancy for the position until the Town elects his successor in March 2023. In the meantime, Vice Mayor Lythgoe (below) shall serve as the Mayor per the Town Charter and per the discussion at the Town Council Workshop Meeting on September 27, 2022.  


Vice Mayor Karen Lythgoe

Karen Lythgoe, Vice Mayor
Elected March 2020
Term expires March 2023

Karen Lythgoe has been a Lantana resident since 1965 and attended Lantana Elementary, Lantana Junior High, and Lake Worth High School. She was active in the Church of the Guardian Angels, played in Lassie League at the old Lyman Field, was in Girl Scouts, and volunteered for the Civil Air Patrol.

Karen and her late husband David raised a daughter, Rebecca, in the town and participated in the various activities provided for families. 

She is proud to represent the town's residents and looks forward to making a difference and keeping the Town of Lantana a special place to live and raise a family.

Vice Mayor Pro Tem Lynn J. Moorhouse

Lynn J. Moorhouse, D.D.S., Vice Mayor Pro Tem
Elected March 2004, March 2007, March 2010, March 2013, March 2016, March 2019, March 2022
Term expires March 2025

Lynn Moorhouse was born in Detroit, Michigan. He moved to Florida after graduating from the University of Michigan's Dental School and serving in the United States Navy. Dr. Moorhouse has lived in Lantana since 1979.

He has been active in the Greater Lantana Chamber of Commerce as a Board Member and as Chairman of the annual Lantana Fishing Derby. He also participates in many other charitable community events. In addition, Dr. Moorhouse has served as Chairman of Lantana's Planning Commission and is a State Board Examiner for dental and dental hygiene Boards.

Dr. Moorhouse looks forward to working with the residents and developing the downtown business district. 

Councilmember Kem Mason

Kem Mason, Councilmember
Elected March 2022
Term expires March 2025

Kem has been a Lantana resident for sixteen years. He dedicated 33 years of his life as Palm Beach County Firefighter and served 16 of those years at Lantana’s Station No. 37.   

Kem has served on the Town's Planning Commission, Greater Lantana Community Education Council, as a Citizen on Patrol (COP), and the Lantana Centennial Committee. He also volunteers for many Town events, including the Lantana Winterfest as Santa Claus. He is also a Greater Lantana Chamber of Commerce member and attends the School Advisory Council (SAC) meetings for Lantana Elementary and Lantana Middle Schools. 

Kem is a widower and has three daughters. He is engaged to be married to his long-time partner Kay. Kem looks forward to working with the Town Manager and residents on the Master Plan, addressing the Town's frequent flooding issues and sea-level rise, and with the local schools on fundraising and improving their literacy programs.  

Councilmember Mark Zeitler

Mark Zeitler, Councilmember
Elected March 2020
Term expires March 2023

Mark Zeitler moved to Lantana in 1959 with his family when he was three. He is currently still living in the home his parents bought in 1959. 

Mark attended Lantana Elementary, Lantana Junior High, and Lake Worth High and played baseball at the Old Lyman Baseball Fields. Mark has been involved in the air conditioning trade for 45 years and has been an air conditioning contractor since 1997.

He feels very fortunate to have grown up in Lantana and wants to keep that special place he has known all his life.